Monday, 27 April 2015

I think I have gone on (and on) about my desire to keep chickens one day.  A chance meeting in a field this morning didn't lessen that at all.  They were so friendly I just wanted to scoop them all up and bring them home!

I will keep myself happy with just making them for now.  I especially like the vertical hanging chickens I have been making recently and you can find these on my new website here

Yes, I did say website, see I have been doing something worthwhile whilst away from Blogland!
(Any orders won't go out until next monday as I am away this week) xx

Sunday, 26 April 2015

We're in the Yorkshire Dales this week, I think my favourite place anywhere!  It's such a wonderful time of year to visit, daffodils and wild flowers are everywhere.  And the lambs... so many lambs with overprotective mamas staring at us (and especially Harry) as we walk over the fields.

The dry stone walls are stunning, but we have a bit of a struggle lifting a basset hound over the too narrow stiles!  Everywhere you walk there are streams, rivers and waterfalls.

The first photo is where we are staying, and the gorgeous view from our window, I may not go home!

Julie x

Sunday, 19 April 2015

I'm back!

Hello, it's lovely to be back and I feel ready to restart my blog. I've missed catching up, but life has rather got in the way for the last few months.

I thought I would start by introducing myself again.  I'm Julie, 52, married with three sons age 23, 21 and 19.  When I asked my husband how he would like to be referred to he said 'my long suffering partner' but I think I'll go with Lucky To Have Me (LTHM for easier reference!)  Living in a home of all boys probably influences the very 'girly' nature of my work and needless to say they are not very impressed.

I thought I'd put a photo up so you know who you're talking to... I was waiting for a day when I don't look tired, but I have a dog who doesn't sleep in past 6 O'Clock, so that's never going to happen!  More about him later.

OK, back to the dog... most of you know him by now.  He is a basset hound (the second one we have had) and because I work from home he spends most of his time with me and consequently is a mummy's boy!  He is also the only member of the family who will allow his photos on here

I live in a house that was brand new when we moved in.  We have now been here 11 years and it can be too big when the boys aren't here (travelling, working and at uni respectively) going from just two of us here to seven over easter with all of them here plus two girlfriends, so we can't see ourselves downsizing quite yet.  I'll show you some inside photos another day

We would like one day to move to something slightly in the country with enough garden to grow veg and keep chickens... one day.

Hopefully that has given you a little insight please leave me messages I love to hear from you and will always reply and if you've any questions please ask me anything!  Some of you may have come across my blog via my website, but if you haven't you can find it at

Have a good week.

Julie xx